pauraque_bk: (wow kodo)
[personal profile] pauraque_bk
My WoW guild is on Christmas break, or at least its scheduled activities are, which has left me in a crisis of boredom and caused me to ponder this burning question.

LEVELING MY TWINK: SHOULD I DO THIS.

I have a 29 twink shaman. A twink is a character you intentionally keep at a low level and then have your high level character buy them powerful items so they can fight against other people who are doing the same thing. And noobs. But honestly I don't even like fighting noobs, not REAL noobs who just bought the game and don't know what all the buttons do yet. Killing them is boring.

I've had this twink for a long time... I've actually been playing her longer than I've been playing my current main. I'm attached. When I first made her my friends were like "lol twink thats dumb", and then I ignored them long enough that they started going, "hey, you're having fun without me, I wanna play", and THEY all made twinks, and we made a twink GUILD and ran a plow team for a few months while our mains were farming MC and we were bored. Then the xpac came out and everyone else lost interest, and i STILL kept playing her.

The monetary investment... well. I wasn't keeping track because I was pretty rich at the time, but maybe 500g on gear, then buying mats to level engineering, and a BC armor kit which I made myself but could have sold for 200g or so. Also the time investment of things like being run through Gnomer and STV, which I doubt I would ever do again.

But the thing is, I made a 70 shaman on the PTR because I was bored as hell, and it was fun. It was like playing my twink, but with lots more toys, and everyone ELSE had more toys, and it was just... I don't know. Fun. I don't want to go on my main and run dailies.

The question is really, do I need another 70. I have three. I have a hunter I used to play, a warlock I don't play, and a priest I was basically forced into playing and don't feel like I'm good at playing. If I went to my guild leader and said that, he'd say if I want to go back to playing my hunter I can, but I don't even know if I want to. I'm good at it, I'm VERY good at it, but am I even interested? I was bored raiding on my hunter at 60, that's why I made a twink...

It's not even a question of switching mains, I can't do that again unless it's back to my hunter, just from a gear standpoint. So what's the point, I don't even know. Poising a 70 shaman to switch at WotLK and be the first to 80?

I could just leave my twink alone and reroll a new shaman and level from 1, yes. The fact that I don't want to do that could indicate that as soon as I start leveling I won't have the motivation to finish, so I'll lose something and gain nothing.

I don't know how much of this is about my twink and how much is just about the stupid healing malaise that everyone goes through. Like if you press downranked gheal one too many times, your brain just snaps and goes HAY U SHOULD REROLL ENH SHAMAN AMIRITE.

I thought if I bothered to type all this out, I would magically decide what to do, but it didn't work. Back to the PTR I guess.

Date: 2007-12-23 05:40 pm (UTC)
ext_7739: (zardo by pauraque)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_hannelore/
Hmm.

I wonder if your thoughts are one part healing malaise, one part suparshiny PTR stuff and three parts restlessness. I think the money investment in Unum is moot at this point, it's more a matter of whether you would wish that you had a twink to fall back on and play in the lower brackets. I can see how a big shaman would be excited because omg heal and fite, now with bonus fite!

I was leaning toward leaving Unum alone, but that would already let you start with a shaman at 29 instead of having to level up from scratch. Plus with her gear, she could breeze through to the 40s or so forth. I'd be willing to level up with you on Mur.

At any rate, if you do really want to have future twink, you could keep going with the durid later on. Options!

Date: 2007-12-23 09:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sedesdraconis.livejournal.com
I decided to start levelling my shadow priest 19 twink. But I had stopped really playing BG with him, and I didn't have any free slots on the server, and it wasn't core to his personality that he was a twink.

My friend had a 19 hunter twink and decided he wanted to level a hunter. He was still having fun playing a twink, twink was integral to his hunter's personality, and he had free slots. So he made a new hunter to level.

So, I'd say, balance those concerns. If your bored, the time to get to 29 isn't that big a problem, especially with accelerated levelling past 20 these days. I decided i needed an alchemist a bit ago and took an alt from 30's to 60's in a little over a month (and a couple weeks of that were before 2.3)

Date: 2007-12-24 07:04 am (UTC)
pauraque: patterned brown and white bird flying on a pale blue background (Default)
From: [personal profile] pauraque
Even though I don't RP, I relate to the "core part of personality" thing. I get attached to my toons and they just ARE a certain way. I don't respec on a whim... or hardly ever, really, even for leveling convenience. My priest went 1-60 and 60-70 as disc/holy, not because I didn't know shadow was faster, but because that was how I wanted him to be.

Profile

pauraque_bk: (Default)
pauraque_bk

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
23 4 5678
91011 12 13 1415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 11:08 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios