my miracles are not on ice
Aug. 23rd, 2008 01:12 amI've never liked the Olympics. When I watched them I found wondering if people would succeed too anxiety-inducing, and watching people lose too depressing. Then when I quit TV (more and more I think of it like quitting a horrible drug), I realized I was just being crammed with sentiments about sports I didn't know anything about, played by people I had never heard of and would soon forget.
Around here there's a lot of commotion about boycotting the Olympics due to China's human rights violations. Rather like the "free Tibet" bumper stickers that are extremely common here, and the customers who ask me where a toy is manufactured, it often makes me wonder why they have picked that particular cause, and whether they really know anything about it, or are simply parroting the popular soundbites of the moment.
A long time ago I saw the Tony Kushner play Homebody/Kabul, and the only thing about it that I really remember is the Homebody's line: "I love the world." The audience laughs uncomfortably at the ignorance of that -- fixing on shiny little shallow pieces and thinking it counts as knowledge, that breadth without depth. Probably recognize it in themselves.
Around here there's a lot of commotion about boycotting the Olympics due to China's human rights violations. Rather like the "free Tibet" bumper stickers that are extremely common here, and the customers who ask me where a toy is manufactured, it often makes me wonder why they have picked that particular cause, and whether they really know anything about it, or are simply parroting the popular soundbites of the moment.
A long time ago I saw the Tony Kushner play Homebody/Kabul, and the only thing about it that I really remember is the Homebody's line: "I love the world." The audience laughs uncomfortably at the ignorance of that -- fixing on shiny little shallow pieces and thinking it counts as knowledge, that breadth without depth. Probably recognize it in themselves.
no subject
Date: 2008-08-23 08:51 am (UTC)There is one channel that shows no other events but boxing, like 24/7. I hate boxing.
no subject
Date: 2008-08-23 10:19 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-08-23 01:35 pm (UTC)With the summer Olympics, well, there are an awful lot of very well-shaped men wearing very little clothing on my television, and this is a very pleasant occurrence. Especially the diving. Especially the synchronized platform diving -- SLASHIEST THING EVER.
Seriously, skip as much of the coverage as you like, but give a quick Google to Thomas Finchum and David Boudia, just for the pretty, slashy goodness.
no subject
Date: 2008-08-23 08:47 pm (UTC)I also watched the women's marathon just to watch the various scenery of Beijing as the contestants ran through the city.
no subject
Date: 2008-08-24 05:20 am (UTC)That's really interesting -- I feel the same way about watching, say, baseball when a pitcher gets into trouble. It's like a drama about the fear of choking in a tough situation, which for some reason cuts too close to home for me. :)
It's really weird, because I don't really watch that much sports, but one of the things I sort of use watching sports for is a kind of psychic reminder that you don't always choke, that some people can constitutionally keep functioning under that kind of stress and it's a good thing.
Yeah, I am from Mars visiting Earth. I was always the kid with a book sitting on the sidelines when other people played softball or something. I've come to terms with it. :)
I wish I had watched some of the Olympics, but it's been years and years since I had a TV. So actually the idea seems almost nostalgic. And I don't mind the big events with lots of competitors -- like track or swimming, because someone's going to win.