open and shut
Sep. 6th, 2008 12:54 amI am fairly inured to my boss's incessant aggression -- she has been known to make her other employees cry -- which has been an interesting exercise in ignoring a bully. It's quite hard to take seriously an adult who behaves like a child, but lately she seems to have caught on that I feel that way, complaining that I "don't care" about what she is saying. At any given moment she's probably right. I don't care. I tune it out because it's nonsense.
However. Today she was working at the other store, and called to bother and screw with me so many times that I finally had to call the manager of that store (her superior) and tell him she was doing it and not to let her call me anymore. He said he thought she was "bored". Yes, I'm sure she was. She must have had nothing to do, that she had to entertain herself harassing me until I couldn't take it anymore. After telling her repeatedly that I was in a bad mood, felt sick, it was very hot in the store, and that this was a bad time to mess with me.
I told him all this and he said she wouldn't call me again. She did not.
I left her a note which said something like:
I need you to recognize when I can't take any more aggression. You've known me long enough to tell when I'm not okay. There's no reason to take it so far that [your superior] is getting involved. Normally it rolls off me but everyone has a limit.
In retrospect I can't really see this doing any good. It was probably the admission of weakness that made her twist the knives in the first place. There wasn't any *anger* in it. She was having fun, laughing. I'm not sure I've ever seen that kind of sadism in a grown up.
I probably should quit... but there is actually a terrible fascination to it. There but for the grace of God go I. It makes me hear myself, it makes me lower my voice. I know a lesson when I see it.
For some reason, by some workings of her life, she's built a trap. Everyone else can get out of it. She's the only one who never can.
However. Today she was working at the other store, and called to bother and screw with me so many times that I finally had to call the manager of that store (her superior) and tell him she was doing it and not to let her call me anymore. He said he thought she was "bored". Yes, I'm sure she was. She must have had nothing to do, that she had to entertain herself harassing me until I couldn't take it anymore. After telling her repeatedly that I was in a bad mood, felt sick, it was very hot in the store, and that this was a bad time to mess with me.
I told him all this and he said she wouldn't call me again. She did not.
I left her a note which said something like:
I need you to recognize when I can't take any more aggression. You've known me long enough to tell when I'm not okay. There's no reason to take it so far that [your superior] is getting involved. Normally it rolls off me but everyone has a limit.
In retrospect I can't really see this doing any good. It was probably the admission of weakness that made her twist the knives in the first place. There wasn't any *anger* in it. She was having fun, laughing. I'm not sure I've ever seen that kind of sadism in a grown up.
I probably should quit... but there is actually a terrible fascination to it. There but for the grace of God go I. It makes me hear myself, it makes me lower my voice. I know a lesson when I see it.
For some reason, by some workings of her life, she's built a trap. Everyone else can get out of it. She's the only one who never can.
no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 08:46 am (UTC)I suppose the best you can do is take what you can learn from them and try not to go down the same road.
And mostly that was completely incoherent, I mostly wanted to comment and link you streaming 10-man naxx. Two wings down, they just killed Raszuvious, and I'm never going to get any sleep. :-X
no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 06:01 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 09:21 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 06:06 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 12:14 pm (UTC)For some reason, by some workings of her life, she's built a trap. Everyone else can get out of it. She's the only one who never can.
The sad thing is that she did not enter the world from the womb being a petty, aggressive person. The behavior was learned somewhere. Having known a few grown up bullies, it always makes me wonder who was emulating that kind of behavior for them and who made it seem okay. It's not okay.
She should really be ashamed of herself for pulling such shit. Is she capable of looking at her own behavior? Maybe, maybe not. But you did the right thing. You are amazing.
no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 03:59 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 05:33 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 04:00 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 06:08 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-09-06 06:10 pm (UTC)The thing that left me amused rather than annoyed is the fact that he felt the need to hide behind the anonymity of a note, even though it would have been obvious, given some specifics of the content, who had written it. So now I know that he's not just a blowhard (which he is), but ultimately a chicken (probably the possibility of knocking on my door only to come face to face with my son Aaron--who can look rather intimidating--rather than me, had something to do with his decision to use the indirect approach), and I find myself less concerned about him than before. I did move the old toilet and sink; no doubt he thinks he 'made' me, but in reality it was something I should have done long ago. Still, I chuckle to myself at his cowardice.
Hope your situation improves one way or the other (a job where people actually appreciated you would be nice for a change.) Such lessons may not be comfortable in the learning, but at least you recognize one when it comes your way, which is a talent not everyone has.