pauraque_bk: (Default)
[personal profile] pauraque_bk
No, things sure haven't been going very well. I would tell you what's wrong with me but I actually don't know and neither do my doctors, who are treating me for things that might be wrong in true House style. The latest medication takes 30 days to reach maximum therapeutic effect. So, see ya in 30 days!

Let's see, what else.

My job does not provide health benefits, but I do get my boss giving me free unsolicited advice about my health, which consists mainly of telling me to stop eating refined sugars and start using homeopathic medicine. I'm a lot more likely to do the former than the latter, though the laffs I get from her telling me she "feels like a crackwhore" when she eats refined sugars are probably worth more than any diet change.

But I bring this up because the buyer called asking for me, and apparently the conversation went something like this:

my boss: He's at the doctor.
buyer: Again? What's wrong with him?
my boss: He didn't tell me exactly but it's not really our business.
buyer: Well I thought maybe I could help.
my boss: What makes you think you could help?
buyer: Well you see I've been having this colon cleansing treatment and it works really well for just about anything that's wrong with you, I've had it for the last five days and I feel lighter and have more energy, and it doesn't even cost very much, and when my mom and sister come into town when my baby is born I'm going to give them both gift certificates for it because it's so great, and they use a very small tube so it doesn't even hurt very much!

Yup. A very small tube, guyz.



Some time ago a woman was hit by a car and killed a few blocks away from where I work. Apparently there was pressure on the police to Do Something, so for about a week they hung out in the area and stopped people who were driving or crossing unsafely. I did not actually know this, so as I was coming in to work, I crossed a side street against the light. So a cop ran up to me and wrote me a citation. There weren't any cars coming, the light was just red, but technically he was right so I just paid it. (As an aside, the only other traffic ticket I've ever received was for making a turn against the light on a bicycle.)

Several weeks later, I was coming up to the exact same intersection, and a woman was getting into her car near the corner. A very old lady driving a big car came up, fortunately very slowly, and as she was turning she HIT the woman standing outside her car, knocked her over -- to the side, not under the wheels -- and went on driving. As I said she wasn't driving very fast, so this other guy and I went after her and yelled for her to stop because she hit someone, which it took rather a long time for her to actually do, but eventually she did.

The woman who got hit was okay, just very shaken. I guess it would have made a better story if she had been crossing and gotten hit, but oh well.




For some reason my photobucket account won't let me into it anymore. It just doesn't accept the password -- which has been programmed into Firefox forever -- and I have no idea what email address I used and it was probably one I don't have anymore, so I guess I can't get it back. I just made a new one, but yeah, it's a little strange.







I am sitting on the curb, to the left of a bear and a pirate. [livejournal.com profile] _hannelore should be in there too.

Profile

pauraque_bk: (Default)
pauraque_bk

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
23 4 5678
91011 12 13 1415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios